Need help changing career paths...

Grizzy

So about a year ago I decided to accept a management job at my work. I am a manager at a restaurant and let me tell you.... I hate it. I hate the field in general and tho I love talking to new people and helping motivate others (coworkers, employees, ect ect) I have found myself in a rut and am unhappy.

I know my true passion lies in computer and IT. Tho logically I can't expect to make a career out of computer games, tho it is a fun hobby, so therefor I am looking around and am unsure where to turn next.

I've been doing some research the past few weeks and was debating on starting my own computer repair company with my little brother, but after doing some researching I am unsure how viable the market is atm.

I have basic coding skills and a strong understanding. I have worked in computer repair before and done IT work on the hardware as well as the software side.

Anyways I am unsure where to start or what direction to go in and am looking for some advice from people who might already have careers in the computer field!! Thank you in advance and any suggestions or advice of any kind will help a great deal!!

- Grizzy

In my experience with providing local it support/computer repair services is that if you consistently resolve the problem your clients will never look elsewhere. 

A gig like that allows you to set your own hours to an extent and that wouldn't require you to quit your current job while building that business. 

I personally hate doing repair work though because in most cases you set a rate up front and you get paid that rate regardless of whether the job takes 10 minutes or 20+ hours. (Most will take longer than expected) In a large majority of cases I haven't found it worth my time, and if I charged what I felt my time was actually worth then my clients would be better off getting new pcs. :/