Gaming Taxonomy and How To Classify Games

Greendude123

Hey there!

I have a question for you guys: how would you go about classifying a game you developed? 

I’m a student at the Illinois Institute of Technology and I’m looking for your help. We're running an online research study to develop a measure of game experience, and we're looking for input from game developers on game definitions. I was hoping you would be willing to take part in the study by responding to our 15-minute survey. It's all fully confidential, and I would be more than happy to provide you further details or answer any questions about my research this study on this topic thread. 

Survey Link: https://iitresearchrs.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_5pZK3z7ZkG9AQsZ

You may find it surprising (or not, probably not) that academicians haven't figured a "proper" way to classify games, so game developer input is very appreciated. You guys contribute to science. Thank you!

Although I would like a response to the survey, I'd also love a discussion on the matter here on the forums!

Best,
Green

Just like there's no good way to classify books and movies there is no good way to classify video games. Games generally spread across multiple genres rather than focusing on one.

For example, MapleStory is an RPG, platformer, and an online multiplayer game. Mario is an RPG and a platformer. Pokemon is an RPG, adventure, management and strategy game. Rocket League is some weird mix between racing and sports but doesn't quite fit in either category.

The campaign of Call of Duty is an RPG FPS and the multiplayer is an online multiplayer arena-esque FPS. Halo is even more of an RPG FPS in campaign and an on/offline multiplayer arena FPS.

While Starcraft, DOTA, League, etc. are all battle arenas, the gameplay of Starcraft is vastly different from the others, and is more of an online RTS Battle Arena while the others are more combat oriented.