Losing level and experience when you die

EduKrowlley

Question

Hi guys! I'm pretty new here, since the dark and ancient times of playerworlds mmorpg engine 2d I've not been present in game development forums... until now!

I've started to using the source code of Intersect Game Engine and not found a configuration to loss experience and level when you die, and started to develop myself experience lost system.

This way, when the player dies, we can apply a formula to calculate the amount of experience player must lost, and if must, player goes level downgrade and subtract the rest of experience what he must lose in the downgraded level.

My question would be if there is already such a system inside the engine and if so, where can I use it. If not, I hope you can help me improve the code and if possible, be able to parameterize this code within the settings of a .json file. I am new to C # and I am learning almost exclusively for use with this engine, because in fact I have been a Java programmer for about 10 years.

Spoiler

12204d0ae241613743fa851ca907cf52.gif

Spoiler

public override void Die(int dropitems = 0, Entity killer = null)
        {
            //Flag death to the client
            PacketSender.SendPlayerDeath(this);

//Event trigger
            foreach (var evt in EventLookup)
            {
                evt.Value.PlayerHasDied = true;
            }

//Expdecay
            DecayExperience();

base.Die(dropitems, killer);
            PacketSender.SendEntityDie(this);
            Reset();
            Respawn();
            PacketSender.SendInventory(this);
        }

public void DecayExperience()
        {
            var formula = Convert.ToInt64(ExperienceToNextLevel * 3 / 10);
            if (Exp < formula)
            {
                var experienceGap = Exp - formula;
                if (Level > 1)
                {
                    SetLevel(Level - 1, true);
                    Exp = Convert.ToInt64(ExperienceToNextLevel + experienceGap);