HOW TO: Make a vanity pet system (kinda)

Trixer

HOW TO: Make a vanity pet system (kinda)

Hello anyone who might be reading this. I am still pretty new to the intersect engine (today is my second day on it) but it seems straight forward.

I have been reading around the forums and noticed everyone mentioning pets, and pet systems.  I think I might have a way to give developers something to "get them buy" until the source code officially releases.  My apologies if this has been posted else where or something.

Getting Started

1.  First we need to add a new equipment slot for a player to equip the pet. So shutdown your server and open up the config.xml file in the server resources directory. 

2. Find the section that looks like the following 

<Equipment>
    <WeaponSlot>2</WeaponSlot>
    <ShieldSlot>3</ShieldSlot>
    <Slot0>Helmet</Slot0>
    <Slot1>Armor</Slot1>
    <Slot2>Weapon</Slot2>
    <Slot3>Shield</Slot3>
    <Slot4>Boots</Slot4>
  </Equipment>

Modify it so that it looks like this 

<Equipment>
    <WeaponSlot>2</WeaponSlot>
    <ShieldSlot>3</ShieldSlot>
    <Slot0>Helmet</Slot0>
    <Slot1>Armor</Slot1>
    <Slot2>Weapon</Slot2>
    <Slot3>Shield</Slot3>
    <Slot4>Boots</Slot4>
    <Slot5>Pet</Slot5>
  </Equipment>

Awesome now save it! This adds a new equip slot for out pet. You can also use this method to add equip slots for other places too.

3.  Now we need to tell the engine how to display the paper doll for the pet.    The next section in the file is just for this. Change it to look like the following 

<Paperdoll>
    <Up>
      <!--Paperdoll is rendered in the following order when facing up. If you want to change when each piece of equipment gets rendered simply swap the equipment names.-->
      <Slot0>Helmet</Slot0>
      <Slot1>Armor</Slot1>
      <Slot2>Weapon</Slot2>
      <Slot3>Shield</Slot3>
      <Slot4>Boots</Slot4>
      <Slot5>Pet</Slot5>
    </Up>
    <Down>