First attempt, Any Pointers?

c8351e549e94a9352aeff395e0112bd6.png

Hi all!

So quick background, I've never done pixel art before and have always sucked at art in genial. I've always been envious of anyone who could do any sort of art and even more envious of those who could do it well. So Thought game design would be an awesome opportunity to start practicing.

So this spritesheet is my first ever attempt of doing pixel art. Took inspiration from heartgold and soulsilver sprites but tried to put an rpg spin on it. Not going to lie, this took me a lot longer than I am happy to admit.

So was hoping for you kind people to crack out the criticism whip and advice me on what I can work on and what it's lacking. Don't go easy. Oh! and any suggestions on what I can do/workon or where some good tutorials are where I can learn?

Thank you :)

Edit: Literally just found a board called "Design and Creativity" Sorry for posting in the wrong place. If this gets moved then all is cool!

http://www.andysowards.com/blog/2012/80-epic-pixel-art-tutorials/

Most of these are broken links by now, but literally read ANY tutorial you can find!

Deviant art tends to have some pixel art tutorials as well.

Also read normal art tutorials, ya never know what could be helpful.

Hair: I like the line art on your hair quite a bit! It's lovely, and a great first attempt. I would suggest adding more depth, you can take your darker tone and make them flow in the direction of the spikes, shadowing the lower layer of them, then put highlights on the mid of the spikes, just don't go too crazy. Play around with making the hairs shape a little more natural but don't go too crazy, always save a new version of it everytime you change something significant.