Getting started in art

Dr.House

First of, I should mention that I'm an artist now for more than 22 years, half of that number was spent doing traditional art like drawing on paper, painting, etc.

The other half was spent working digitally, and I got asked a lot by people, how can they start with art, is it hard, can anyone do it?

My answer was always a "Yes", you can do it, but needs to put some work in order to achieve some nice results.

Some Q&A - This is not a tutorial about how to draw stuff, it's more about how to get started and what to do in some cases.

I never tried drawing/ never tried seriously, I suck at this, can I get to be good at this or even pro?

Yes, it doesn't matter, everything depends on your brain, eyes collect the informations and send them to the brain, the brain tries to recognise the patterns, the more you train aka draw, the better the results will be, also you will train your hand which will make things easier to control.

There are no people with talent and people without, it all depends on the brain like I mentioned, some people recognise better different patterns, like those used in math or whatever, but the brain can be trained and things can be learned.

What softwares should I use first?

Whoa, hold on cowboy, you first need to draw on paper, and the reason for this is mentioned above, to understand shapes and to imagine shapes, to have control by training your hand, in order to draw whatever you imagined.

Of course you can start directly digitally, but then you will miss the best parts, also, the harder it is, the better it is for you, on paper you don't have Undo, Copy/Paste and such, you're limited, and that is good, because you need to think more of how the shape you're drawing needs to look, once you get used you won't need to erase stuff so often.

What are the important things I should know or do?