Only allow the player to have 1 bag in inventory

Vallorz

Question

Hi, I am really new to the Intersect engine and been looking all over the place on how to do this but could not figure it out. 

I am wanting to make it so the player can only have 1 bag in their inventory at a time so they cannot just fill their inventory up with bags for like 100 inventory slots. 

I am assuming I can do this with a variable but I am a bit confused on how it would work and got lost trying to make it work lol. 

I would also like to mention that I don't want the second bag to be deleted, say if they already have a bag in their inventory and are trying to take another one out of the bank then it just wouldn't let them and give them a message like "You may only have 1 bag on you" or if they try to buy a bag from a shop, it wouldn't let them. 

Any help would be appreciated, thanks <3

7 answers to this question

Hi, there's several way to do that, but each one have their own drawback as i'm not sure you can do it the way you want because there's no actual way to do a checking from the vendor when you're buying and even the player can still put the bag in banks. So apart from the pure deleting option (Wich is not really good imo) i'm not sure you can do it perfectly without source edit.

But ! There are workaroung

Exemple of not working things : 

1)Put a conditional branches on the "Bag vendor" which check if the player got a Bag and if so, the player cannot buy another one.

2) Not working because : the player can put bag in bank and come later

A working way assuming your player never lose item on death: 

1)Give the player a "Bag" token or a simple bag in the begining of the game, make it "Bound".

2) Make as much crafting recipe of Bag as you need (Like : Little bag, medium bag, big bag), put whatever you want in the recipe and the lesser bag as a component ( Little -> Medium -> Big -> Etc...)

Then, put them in a table craft "Bag Vendor"