[2ME] 2D MMORPG Engine

Underglow

Hi,

I have been an indie game developer for the last 15 years & am a professional software developer. Eclipse / Intersect Engine have inspired me develop a tool to create 2D MMORPGS that's flexible.

I'm developing a 2D MMORPG engine that will provide full customisation while delivering full control to the user; this engine is currently unnamed and therefore, I'll be referring to it as "2ME" (2D MMORPG Engine). The current issues I've noticed with the 2D MMORPG Engines available, is they take a lot of control out of the users hands when it comes assets and game play. 2ME strives to give that control back to the user.

For example, animations:

5bf781e74343595cfc2ef44378ee5774.png

Not only can individual animations be named, but each frame can have a different set duration & origin.

12ef41b3826e3fa9a363df5423c87f43.png

Create play lists for maps:

be167d4016b56902003bba0f7c9f0669.png

2ME has been under development for the last 3 months.

Check out my public Trello board for progress.

Planned Features:

• Editors
    • Maps
    • Classes
    • Items
    • Quests
    • Shops
    • NPCs
  • Resources
    • Sprites / Animations (+ Editor)
    • Tilesets
    • Images
    • Languages / Language Items
    • Sounds
    • Music
    • Music Play Lists
  • System
    • Highly scalable reliable UDP network.
    • Customisable folder and resource structure.
    • Triggers (Events -> Conditions -> Actions) - No need to code.
    • Customisable:
      • Player attributes
      • Genders
      • Formulas
      • Player controls (includes point & click movement!)
      • Movement: choose between: grid or pixel based movement.
    • Multiple database back-end support (MSSQL, MySQL etc.).
    • Platformer / Top-down game support.
    • Path Finding (A*)
  • Other:
    • Documentation will exist for every editor and system within 2ME. That is a promise.