Mapping Our WIP Map

Shilo

My girlfriend is creating a map in Intersect. She's a beginner artist and mapper and we would like some constructive criticism from the community to improve the map. We are aware that it needs more details and feel like there is a bit of a creativity block. It's still work in progress.

Is there any tips/tricks and/or tutorials to help with designing maps in general and making them professional and attractive?
How do we know when there's too little or too many trees and so forth?

Is there a general distance we should use between trees?

Any other suggestions is welcome!

I'm sure all of this is vague, but art and creativity is definitely not my strong suit and it's hard to help her with mapping. I am a programmer and logical by heart, so I lack creativity. Any help would be much appreciated by both of us, thank you very much!

Here's the map:

http://ascensiongamedev.com/resources/filehost/4dce8f345bf5bfce5ace45adee711cb5.png

4dce8f345bf5bfce5ace45adee711cb5.png

24 minutes ago, Zetasis said:

The only tips I have atm is not the mix retro style graphics with modern style graphics. They don’t mesh well together. 

Thank you for the input.

We were definitely worried about that and trying to strive for assets that meshed together. She says that she's using the Mack (RPG Maker) tilesets and the new Intersect tilesets in this map. Aren't they similar in style? It does seem like the new Intersect tilesets are trying to be more retro though.

Could you please point us to the tiles and areas that look out of place and dont mesh? Personally I cant see any tiles that look really out of place.

5 minutes ago, Shilo said:

Thank you for the input.

We were definitely worried about that and trying to strive for assets that meshed together. She says that she's using the Mack (RPG Maker) tilesets and the new Intersect tilesets in this map. Aren't they similar in style? It does seem like the new Intersect tilesets are trying to be more retro though.